mumbai, india – chhatrapati shivaji terminus (unesco world heritage site)

i’m pretty certain it was the ice cream.  after almost 4 1/2 weeks without dessert i was craving the banana split on the menu in my hotel in kathmandu, nepal.  to be honest, i was forewarned.  the electricity in kathmandu is sporadic at best and my ice cream was probably thawed and frozen several times.  in any case, i arrived in mumbai extremely sick and happy to be in a good hotel with a doctor.  i was frantic.  i had planned to do a lot of shooting in mumbai and here i was, stuck in bed, too ill to even lift the tv remote.

as soon as i started feeling a bit better, i dragged myself into a taxi and said the first thing that came into my mind:  victoria terminus, now known as Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.  the taxi driver told me that i had to go through the underground tunnel to get through to the terminus.  as i started my descent, i began to panic.  not only were there a lot of people coming and going, it felt like i was walking into an oven.  the first thought that came into my mind was “don’t pass out here”, as i was still very weak.  i took my time and started looking around.  this small underground passageway was rich with images just waiting to be captured.

